Saturday, January 9, 2010

Facebook photo tagging scam



While I was browsing Facebook today, I got a notification that a friend of mine had tagged my in a photo. When I went to click on it, the link redirected me to a third party website, which a add on for Firefox that I use called noscript blocked the site from being displayed. The web address that it sent me to was facefeed.co.uk/photo.php?user=1393221686&1263076906, which looks a lot like a Facebook photo url.

I then decided to investigate this a bit, I ran Firefox in application called Sandboxie which boxes in the application so nothing malicious can get a chance of infecting your computer.

When I did so it took me to the application install page on Facebook. After reading the comments for the application it seemed like it spams all of your friends with that photo notification. Also the date on the comments all come from today (1/9/2010) makes it seem that this is a new application.

I strongly believe the page that Firefox tried to load when I click the link had some malicious code in it.

When on Facebook make sure that when your about to click on a link that the web address matches the site that you might be visiting, you can do so by looking at the text on the bottom left of the window in most internet browsers.

0 comments:

Post a Comment